h1

Why I Love Blogging

December 2, 2008

There. I said it. I love blogging. I know to many people that will invoke images of pajama-clad anonymous online journallers in cyberspace, posting their innermost thoughts, or oversharing to the max a la Julia Allison. I know some people won’t like it. And guess what? I don’t care. Because blogging is awesome.

Since I started blogging, and like actually blogging, I’ve gotten to know some of the most interesting people — authors, writers, entrepreneurs, and above all, leaders. All in their 20s, too, and yet they’ve accomplished so much. Imagine where all these people will be in 10 or 20 years: they’ll be the most successful people of our generation.

Anyways, it’s because I love blogging that I don’t feel guilty at all about the two hours I spent tonight moving my blog from Blogger (hosted on nomadlife.org) to WordPress. If anything I feel like making the big switch to WordPress somehow makes me a more legitimate blogger.

There are many reasons I am blogging. One, I obviously like to write, a lot. Two, everyone from Loren Feldman to Penelope Trunk to Mitch Joel — tons of successful people at the top of their industries — are heralding the benefits of blogging. It’ll enhance your career, your personal brand, your reputation, your goals, your network, blah blah, all the experts are saying it. Yet the vast majority of us are still too scared to actually give in and do it, despite all the proven and much-talked about benefits of blogging. People are still scared to really express themselves and say what they mean.

And that’s a shame, because social technology really has the power to enhance your life, if you let it. But most of this stuff, even blogging, is far from mainstream yet. Particularly among college students, which is unfortunate and is something I gripe about every once in a while. But blogging can open up a wealth of resources if you can put in the work and patience it demands. The rewards are certainly worth it, though.

9 comments

  1. Hey I love blogging too!! Found you from Wonderland or Not. I always like coming across other Illinois bloggers. I’ll be linking.


  2. i think you should blog professionally when you graduate. if you got in with the right people youd make bank.

    aaaaaaaand im officially following your blog :) keep it up!


  3. I’m so glad you moved to wordpress! Isn’t it so much better?

    Love your blog, ideas, and writing. Glad to have met.

    I need to get out to Chicago

    – Jun


  4. A lot of my peers still don’t see blogging as a legitimate form of branding, which in certain cases, I agree with. For example, if you use blogging solely for branding, versus trying to communicate your honest thoughts and personality and/or trying to help others. If you do the latter, the former should follow, but I think my peers lose sight of that.

    Putting yourself out there, for the world to see, can be tough too. A little off topic, but my question is are the bloggers who project their real selves in the virtual world able to do the same in the real world? Are the people willing to spill their guts on a blog the same who can open up to a complete stranger at a bus stop? Or is it the opposite, and the blog becomes the only place a blogger can open up?

    Personally, I’m getting much better with both, but being able to open up in the real world is far more important.


  5. @Chris — thanks! I like finding Illinois bloggers too.

    @Sydney — Aw, I am so glad you are following my blog :) Every time you comment I get a little excited.

    @Jun– Yes! WordPress totally rocks. Plus I for some reason feel like a more legitimate blogger using wordpress now. And, right back at you on the blog stuff. Let me know when you’re coming to Chicago!

    @Christopher Lee – I agree if you openly and honestly communicate your thoughts and ideas, the branding follows since that becomes part of how you are perceived. Most of my peers definitely don’t see the value in blogging as part of personal branding though either. For your second point, that’s a good question, and I’m not sure what the answer is. But the one blogger I know who is super open on her blog says that she tries to be that open in every aspect of her life, but I’m not sure everyone is like that. I agree that opening up to people in general is def. more important than being able to open up just through a blog….


  6. WordPress rocks. I officially purchased my domain name – and now, I feel super-official.

    It’s kind of funny that so many people blog, but you are able to still find an interesting and tight-knit community of like-minded bloggers – it’s great!


  7. Oh, btw Nisha – I’m totally stealing your idea of having a website through Weebly!


  8. Raven: Yup wordpress rocks and so do bloggers. Also: go for it, Weebly is totally awesome. They have so many templates and make it really easy and free to create your own site. Great for writers. Let me know the link to yours when it’s done, I want to see it!


  9. “because social technology really has the power to enhance your life, if you let it” I could not agree more!

    I too felt a bit more legit as a blogger after I switched from WordPress.com to WordPress.org. I’ve met many great people through blogging and it’s opened up many new doors.

    I look forward to catching up on your blog!



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

