h1

Patrick Swayze: A Reminder That All News Is Going Social

September 15, 2009

An exchange between myself and my roommate tonight (she works in publishing).

Roommate: I just heard Patrick Swayze died today. I can’t believe it!

Me: I can’t believe it either. I heard about it the instant the story broke on Twitter. I don’t even need to read the news anymore because the second it happens, everyone starts talking about it.

Roommate: See from a publishing standpoint, that’s terrible! I don’t even use Twitter.

Me: Where did you hear the news?

Roommate: NPR.

Me: Oh, that’s good.

Roommate: Well, that was actually only because someone posted it on Facebook.

Kind of makes you wonder…what is going to happen to the news? Where will it be in five years? Will it just become secondary to social media?

7 comments

  1. I don’t think news is going to change – the difference is just in how we SHARE the news. Before we just shared news with our close friends and family. Now we can share it with vast ranges of people. I think we still need journalism and we need news articles to provide balanced points of view and accurate information. But the way we share this info? It’s changing.


  2. I found out about his death via Twitter as well…as a busy college student, I like the news blasts on Twitter because I can just sift through which headlines sound most appealing to me, then click on the link to read the whole story.

    I couldn’t just live off of the headlines–I’d need the whole story. good post.


  3. It just may become secondary unless reporters really begin lifecasting or reporting the way people do on twitter. Notice I said reporters and not organizations. I enjoy updates from people like @newmediajim. When news is breaking it would be great to see more of that from reporters instead of all the CNNbreaking news tweets.

    I know twitter’s not everything and saying that it will be around and as dominant in 5yrs is bold, but like Akhila said, it’s about how we share info. Right now 140 characters can be a very interesting way to share news.


  4. It’s not so much that news is changing, but rather the way it is disseminated. People will still get news, but not through traditional means. Social media is making it instant, constantly updated–and it’s also making it more interactive. But people need information, and journalism will be there to provide it.


  5. […] Patrick Swayze: A Reminder That All News Is Going Social. […]


  6. I appreciate the social media aspect of news-sharing: in addition to the “objective” news, we get everyone’s commentary as well. I feel more engaged when I have a forum to express a reaction to the news.

    I’m also not sure which is more valid… in terms of the news becoming “secondary to social media,” I’m not sure that’s such a bad thing. A variety of opinions can give us a more holistic perspective.


  7. I too found out about Swayze’s death via Twitter- I think the news is going to continue to be distributed through these new channels- however that won’t change where we ultimately get our news- news and wire services that break it first.



Comments are closed.

